2012 in pictures

It’s just the third day of my 365-day challenge and I have to admit, I am already running out of ideas to write. Hoping I can find my muse, I opened my Facebook account and found myself browsing tagged photos.

Can’t help but laugh at how hilarious most of my tagged photos are. Photos range from merienda with workmates to dinners with high school friends to liquor nights with college buddies to just random moments at work. Diverse as they may be, the photos have a common denominator: genuine happiness.

And since New Year is the season for reminiscences, I decided to just compile some of the best photos as a “tribute” to one of the best years in my life so far. The photos are arranged per category since my memory is already failing me. I can’t recall when these moments happened.

Food Appreciation 101
The past year turned out to be one of the best in terms of food adventure. Here are some of the documented escapades of my (our) tummy.

Salmon and asparagus pasta at Bru-Kus (Tastes well, but very pricey), The Floss Set at Toast Box (Hated the Milk Tea) and Claudette's Carbonara.
Salmon and asparagus pasta at Bru-Kus, Valero St (Tastes well, but very pricey), The Floss Set at Toast Box, BGC (Hated the Milk Tea) and Claudette’s Carbonara (also along Valero St). (Photos by Drew)

Trip to Zamboanga (April 2012)
Perhaps one of the most memorable of my 2012 would be my trip to Zamboanga City with Mama. First, because I paid for my own airfare for the first time. Second, I was able to observe the Holy Week there again. Third, I was able to attend Mamang’s (that’s how we fondly call her) 86th birthday. Lastly, I was able to go visit the many tourist attractions in the city for the first time, though I’ve been there for three times already. I wasn’t able to visit the pink sand island of Sta Cruz, though. Maybe next time.

Drew at Fort Pilar and his jumpshots at Zamboanga EcoZone. (Photos taken by Mama)
Drew at Fort Pilar and his jumpshots at Zamboanga EcoZone. (Photos taken by Mama)
(Clockwise from top left) Mamang and Mama, Atop Mt Abong-abong, my grandmother's Jesus in Gethsemane being prepped for the Good Friday procession, a caterpillar at the Butterfly Garden. (Photos by Drew)
(Clockwise from top left) Mamang and Mama, Atop Mt Abong-abong, my grandmother’s Jesus in Gethsemane being prepped for the Good Friday procession, a caterpillar at the Butterfly Garden. (Photos by Drew)

Welcome to the World, Chaela (April 17, 2012)
The best thing that ever happened in 2012 was the birth of my first niece, Chaela. A bundle of joy, indeed. I am her Ninong, too.

Proud Uncle. (From Drew's Instagram account)
Proud Uncle. (From Drew’s Instagram account)

Bookworm
For 2012, I was able to expand my book “collection”. Here are some of the titles I bought and received. Wasn’t able to read them all, however.

books

Rekindling relationships with HS buddies
Relationships with high school friends became “stronger” than ever since we graduated. We had more movie and coffee dates this year, aside from the random dinners and Banchetto nights spearheaded by my Lhara and Nandz. These, aside from the annual Christmas gathering and summer outing. Keeping my fingers crossed for our plan to expand our trips to places outside Rizal.

Summer outing at Club Manila East. (Photo from Maru Salvador)
Summer outing at Club Manila East. (Photo from Maru Salvador)
(Above) One of our random dinner yayaans. That's my best friend Lhara in pink. (Below) During our Christmas reunion. (Photos from Angela Bitoy and Lhara Laureta)
(Above) One of our random dinner yayaans. That’s my best friend Lhara in pink. (Below) During our Christmas reunion. (Photos from Angela Bitoy and Lhara Laureta)

Pageant Expert
Finally, after years of dedication in making quality beauty pageant related thread, I was officially promoted to pageant expert this year. I failed bigtime in my Miss Universe predictions, however. But finished second overall (there were nearly 500 participants) in the Prediction Games season. Aside from this, I got to know new people, too: my OMG family.

Master of pageantry and predictions!
Master of pageantry and predictions!

UST and V
Of course, the year won’t be complete without the usual get-together with arguably the best people I’ve ever been: my friends in UST. We supported the first major photo exhibit of the Paul Quiambao, welcomed Rona back from New Zealand, wished Ian good luck as he pursues further studies in the UK, shared dinners and built better relationships between sticks of cigarettes and bottles of Tanduay Ice. As for my “crazy posse”, we failed to go somewhere for the summer break, but we offset that with the Katy Perry experience, more food appreciations, overnights at Dane’s crib and movie marathons.

Photos from Aura Dagcutan, Alphonsus Alfonso, Emil Dela Cruz and Reniel Tiu
Photos from Aura Dagcutan, Alphonsus Alfonso, Emil Dela Cruz and Reniel Tiu
Post-Christmas gathering with Cheenee, Dane, Rose, Sarah and Prinz. (Photo from Rose Cabacang)
Post-Christmas gathering with Cheenee, Dane, Rose, Sarah and Prinz. (Photo from Rose Cabacang)

The SENCOR experience
This would have to be the most emotionally challenging 2012 moments. We had to endure a lot of heartaches (delayed salary, cancelled team building, misunderstandings and resignations). Those moments made them all the more special in my heart. We may have parted ways, but the friendship will reminds. Here’s to more DOTA challenges, TimeZone moments and random”landi”.

sencor3
DOTA sessions, TimeZone moments, and “Dress-up” Wednesdays (Photos by Drew and AD Dela Cruz)
In between spreadsheets. (Photos from Dani Austria and Elaine Contreras)
In between spreadsheets. (Photos from Dani Austria and Elaine Contreras)
The Team (Photos by Ram Barateta)
The Team (Photos by Ram Barateta)
sencor4
My birthday babay (Photos by nicole De Dios and Nicole Suizo), AD’s farewell (Photo from AD Dela Cruz) and ACE experience (Photo by Ram Barateta)
The plan for our cancelled Batangas team building. :(
The plan for our cancelled Batangas team building. 😦

New Work
I spent the last quarter of the year in a new environment. New job, new people. Finally, I feel like a student again with the training. I learn something new everyday. Hoping to have a fruitful 2013 with them. Looking forward to more Friday treats!

View from the office CR (Photo by Drew)
View from the office CR (Photo by Drew)
Just Add Water. With my new workmates during the company Christmas party. (Photo from company's files)
Just Add Water. With my new workmates during the company Christmas party. (Photo from company’s files)

Randomness
And while finishing this, I browsed my phone’s gallery for more photos and found more.

NBI Clearance, TimeZone date with cousins, view from Dane's crib, Katy Perry concert ticket, and Mother's Day cake.
NBI Clearance, TimeZone date with cousins, view from Dane’s crib, Katy Perry concert ticket, and Mother’s Day cake. (Photos by Drew. TimeZone photo by Nico Santos)

As we move forward this 2013, I leave you with this line from one of my previous work mate’s inspiring team presentation:

Who I am makes a difference. Spread the word. (Photo by Drew)
Who I am makes a difference. Spread the word. (Photo by Drew)
Leave a Reply

