When a man ‘covers’ a woman

I’m a sucker for male covers of songs popularized by females. And so for day 12 of my 365-day challenge, I present to you some of my favorite male covers. Enjoy!

Cody Belew – Telephone

The Voice USA’s Season 3 contestant gave a refreshing take on the Lady Gaga/Beyonce hit. Love his vocals.

Also recommended: his cover of Beyonce’s Crazy in Love.

Darren Criss – Teenage Dream

Darren Criss’s first version of the Katy Perry song was a big hit, but I love the acoustic, heartfelt version more.

Also recommended: his cover of Britney Spears’ Baby, One More Time.

Gabe Bondoc – Realize

Gabe’s cover of the Colbie Caillat song is love! He’s the type of guy you’d want to hang out with. Haha!

Also recommended: his cover of Colbie Caillat’s Falling for You.

Boyce Avennue – Someone Like You

The most heartfelt rendition of the Adele classic hit. Boyce Avenue has done a lot of covers, but this remains the standout for me.

Also recommended: their cover of Whitney Houston’s I Look to You.

Jason Dy – Love on Top

So far, the best male version of Love on Top I’ve heard.

Also recommended: his cover of Rihanna’s You Da One.

Sam Tsui – I Will Always Love You

A lot of Whitney Houston covers cam out when the diva passed away, but Sam’s rendition is the best for me. Perfect pitch.

Also recommended: his cover of Christina Perri’s Jar of Hearts.

Mike Hough – Best Thing I Never Had

My favorite of them all. I like how his husky voice gets a bit pitchy, but still reaches the notes. He’s a charmer, too.

Also recommended: his cover of Rihanna’s Diamonds.

Coldplay – We Found Love

Need I say more? Love it!

Leave a Reply

