The Letter

Photo from Aika Robredo/Robredo family. Grabbed from GMA News’ official Facebook page.

photo posted on GMA News’ official Facebook page of a father’s letter to his four-year-old daughter went viral on Facebook yesterday. The letter dated August 11, 1992 was written by the late DILG secretary Jesse Robredo to his oldest daughter Aika. Robredo was in Germany for an official business when he wrote the letter.

I can’t help but shed tears when I read the letter. I can see how caring and loving Robredo was to his daughters. But what made me cry was the last paragraph:

Please try to study well. Take good care of mama. Do not spend your time crying.

Those were the same word my deceased father told us before he passed away. The night before he died, I remember him telling me to never neglect my studies and to never leave our mother. Hours before he passed away, he told my mother not to cry. “Ayoko na umiiyak kayo” were his exact words.

* * *

When I was a kid, I was fond of writing letters for my parents. My mother would always tell me how thoughtful I was back then, compared to now. For old time’s sake, allow me to write a letter to my father (inspired by that of Robredo’s).

Dear Papa,

I’m sorry if I disappointed you for not bring home that Latin honor.  You know how much I tried my best. Forgive me for not being to showy about my love for Mama and my sisters. You know how much I care for them, and that everything I do now, I do it for them. Forgive me, I spent a great amount of time crying when you passed away. But I know, you know, it just means I love you.

I love you. I can’t wait for that day when I’ll see you again.

Love,
Drew

2 thoughts on “The Letter

Leave a Reply

