Pia Wurtzbach: Gracious in defeat

coronation-75
A photo of Pia Wurtzbach which became viral online after the pageant night.
A photo of Pia Wurtzbach which became viral online after the pageant night.

The road to the Bb Pilipinas 2014 crowns finally ended with Mary Jean Lastimosa, a third-timer, winning the coveted Miss Universe Philippines crown. But as I celebrate with MJ for the well-deserved win, my heart bleeds for another former Binibini runner-up, Pia Wurtzbach.

Pia was touted as the girl to beat the day she decided to join again. She did everything, and the hunger to win a crown was evident. But in Sunday night, her dreams didn’t come into reality after she went home crownless. At the back of my mind I was thinking how painful it is for Pia. After being the only crownless girl last year in the Top 5, she did not even manage to make it to the Top 7 this year.

What went wrong? What it her styling? Was she over-baked? Was it a bad decision to answer in the native tongue knowing that the panel of judges include foreigners? I don’t want to pin the blame on anyone, because we all know Pia did her best that night. It’s just that in every contest, there will always be winners and losers. Maybe, it just wasn’t the right time for her.

It was comforting to see Pia’s instagram post after the pageant: “GRATEFUL that I was able to experience what it’s like to be a part of the pageant world. When I placed 1st RU last year, I gave all my time, effort & love to my job. I had so much fun! I just tried again because I wanted to know of this was really meant for me. But how do you know if you don’t take chances, right? I’m glad I made it this far. No doubt that I learned so much from it. I’m a better person now than I was a year ago. Thank you to my mentors from Aces & Queens for teaching me everything I know & transforming me! & to my supporters for pushing me & encouraging me. THANK YOU!! Time to turn the page & move on to a new chapter! ”

Pia earned my respect for being gracious in defeat. RIght after MJ was called, she was smiling and clapping for her. And this post just shows how good and grateful person she is.

Whatever she decides to do now, and whatever plans she have, I will definitely support her.

 

One thought on “Pia Wurtzbach: Gracious in defeat

Leave a Reply

