Mister United Continents Philippines 2016 Gala Night

The candidates of Mister United Continents Philippines 2016 showcased their runway skills at the gala night held Wednesday, April 20 at Club Haze at the Fort Strip in Bonifacio Global City, Taguig City.

The candidates came out in trendy outfits and sexy summer attires to kick off the night. Afterwards, the pre-pageant proper was held where the 17 candidates were judges in swimwear, formal wear and Kasuotang Pinoy (national/native costumes). A gift auction was also held.

Before the show ended, the finalists in three fast track events were announced. The winners of these challenges will get an automatic spot in the Top 12 come finals night.

The Top 3 in the Sports Challenge are Malasiqui, Argao and Lanao Del Norte. Talent finalists are Cebu City, Camiguin and Baao. The Top 5 in Kasuotang Pinoy are Polangui, Nueva Ecija, Malasiqui, Argao and Guinobatan.

The finals night be held on Sunday, April 24 at the Tanghalang Pasigueno in Pasig City.


Kasuotang Pinoy



Anabel Christine Tia is Miss United Continents Philippines 2015

Bb Pilipinas alumna Anabel Christine Tia will represent the Philippines in the Miss United Continents 2015pageant to be held in Guayaquil, Ecuador from August 29 to September 12.

The announcement was made by Mr John Dela Vega, the Philippines’ national director for Miss United Continents, on his Facebook account.

The Ozamiz City beauty is 26 years old and stands 5’7″. Tia participated in Bb Pilipinas 2014 and 2015, but failed to place in the semifinals of both editions.

She took up Nursing and worked as an art teacher. She “has profound passion for arts and conducts painting, dancing and cooking workshop for kids”. 


Miss Bikini Philippines 2015: Meet the candidates

Miss Bikini Philippines 2015 candidates with last year’s winner Hazel Ortiz. (Photo by Bong Tan/Missosology)

Miss Bikini Philippines 2015 candidates were introduced to the press last Monday, May 11, in a pre-pageant presentation held at the Diamond Hotel.

They are: 1) Ariz Encarnacion, 2) Beah Ocampo, 3) Jessah Eclevia, 4) Jhai Cariaga, 5) Julie Basnillo, 6) Zairah Agsaluna, 7) Tim Alsowyed, 8) Marlyn dela Merced, 9) Ayen Mangaring, 10) Divine Canaceli, 11) Nicole Dichoso, 12) Pau Napuli, 13) France Constantino, 14) Kim Alcantara, 15) MJ Lucero, 16) Rayne Tipones, 17) Lyn Agriam, 18) Ina Alcantara, 19) Maricar Sicuana, 20) Karla Alas, 21) Jonna Bravante, 22) Angelu Gonzales, 23) Honey Bravante, 24) Crystal Padilla, 25) Maggie Hizon, 26) Gale Canillo, 27) Ace Morales, 28) Juvi Balili and 29) Angela Yagaya.

The pageant yielded another set of promising hopefuls who might follow the footsteps of the competition’s former winners Bb Pilipinas International 2015 Janicel Lubina (2013) and Miss Philippines Earth 2013 Angelee Claudette delos Reyes (2011).

Miss Bikini Philippines aims to promote the healthy, fit and beautiful lifestyle among the young Filipino generation. The finals is scheduled for May 21 at Resorts World Manila’s Newport Performing Arts Theater.

‘Pinay Beauty Queen Academy’ reality show premieres Oct 4

Twenty girls from around the country will battle it out in a new reality show titled Pinay Beauty Queens Academy which focuses on the rigorous training aspiring beauty queens undergo.

The candidates will be housed in one location and will face daily activities and challenges that will test their abilities. One contestant will be eliminated each week.

The host and mentors of PBQA during the press presentation. From left, Joyce-Ann Burton, Evangeline Pascual, Maria Isabel Lopez and Precious Lara Quigaman

Serving as mentors are Miss World 1973 1st Runner-up Evangeline Pascual, Bb. Pilipinas-Universe 1982 Maria Isabel Lopez, Miss International 2005 Precious Lara Quigaman and Bb Pilipinas-Universe 1985 Joyce Ann Burton-Titular. Miss Grand International 2013 3rd runner-up Ali Forbes will be hosting the show.

The show will air every Saturday at 9:45pm on GMA News TV starting October 4.

Meet the 20 candidates below:

Photographs: Critical Beauty and PBQA Facebook page

Panglao’s bet is Miss Scuba Philippines 2014

Fil-Australian Amanda Arbitrario, 18, of Panglao, Bohol was crowned Miss Scuba Philippines 2014 at the finals held Friday night, September 26, at the the Pacific Cebu Resort in Mactan, Cebu.

She will represent the country in Miss Scuba International 2014, which will take place in Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia on November 28. Last year’s Philippine representative Christine Paula Bernasor placed 1st runner-up in the pageant.

No stranger to pageants, Amanda represented Caloocan City in Miss Philippines Earth 2014. She was named as the grand winner of Miss Caloocan 2014 pageant. In 2011, she joined Miss Panglao contest and finished 1st runner-up.


Bb Pilipinas alumna Krischelle Halili wins Miss Manila 2014


Krischelle Halili during the Q&A round (left) and after being crown Miss Manila 2014 with Gloria Diaz and Manila mayor Erap Esrada and his wife Loi Ejercito-Estrada (right). Photos from @princessabante
Krischelle Halili during the Q&A round (left) and after being crown Miss Manila 2014 with Gloria Diaz and Manila mayor Erap Esrada and his wife Loi Ejercito-Estrada (right). Photos from @princessabante

Former Bb Pilipinas candidate Krischelle Halili won the Miss Manila 2014 crown at the finals held June 25th at the Philippine International Convention Center. The 24-year-old medicine student from the University of Santo Tomas bested 49 other candidates to win the top plum.

Before entering med school, Halili finished nursing at the Centro Escolar University in Manila. She joined Bb Pilipinas last March but failed to make it as a Top 15 finalist. Two other Bb Pilipinas alumna made it to the Top 5 – Julian Aurine Flores and Angelia Ong.

The Top 5
The Top 5

Completing the top 5 are:

  • 1st runner-up: 18 Princess Angela Abella
  • 2nd runner-up: 9 Angelia Gabrena Ong
  • 3rd runner-up: 6 Kayesha Clauden Chua
  • 4th runner-up: 7 Julian Aurine Flores
The Top 15
The Top 15

The Top 15 finalists are:

  • 5 Samantha Page Haire
  • 6 Kayesha Clauden Chua
  • 7 Julian Aurine Flores
  • 9 Angelia Gabrena Ong
  • 14 Mharyel Tapia
  • 16 Susanne Stefanowitz
  • 17 Bernadette Paez
  • 18 Princess Angela Abella
  • 19 Alyssa Jasoreno
  • 22 Shyrmain Macasio
  • 25 Krischelle Halili
  • 27 Michelle Abcedre
  • 28 Arielle Tumanut
  • 29 Cheska Laurente
  • 30 Sheila Mae Morales
International beauties. Bea Rose Santiago and Nathalie den Dekker
International beauties. Bea Rose Santiago and Nathalie den Dekker

The panel of judges included Miss International 2013 1st runner-up Nathalie den Dekker, actress Gretchen Barretto, fashion designer Francis Libiran, lensman Raymund Isaac, senator Tito Sotto and Miss Universe 1969 Gloria Diaz among others. Actors Edu Manzano and Derek Ramsey shared the hosting duties together with the reigning Miss International Bea Rose Santiago.

Miss Manila 2014 search, which forms part of the celebration of this year’s Araw ng Maynila, is a joint project between Manila Mayor Joseph Estrada and Viva Group of Companies honcho Vic del Rosario.