Kris Tiffany Janson wins Bb Pilipinas 2014 Best in National Costume

Kris Tiffany Janson in a Cary Santiago creation
Kris Tiffany Janson in a Cary Santiago creation

BINIBINI 13 Kris Tiffany Janson was announced as the recipient of the Best in National Costume award during the Binibining Pilipinas 2014 The Road to the Crown special, which was aired on ABS-CBN earlier.

Janson wore a white terno, with patterns inspired by the Philippine national flower Sampaguita. It was designed by Cary Santiago. The national costume competition was held during the Bb Pilipinas Fashion Show last March 6.

My thoughts
Janson was 12th on my list of 15 Best in National Costumes. The gown perfectly represented a conservative Filipina by choosing that color, but with a touch of sexiness by having a see-through bottom. In terms of performance, Janson was just okay. It wasn’t a wow moment, and if not for her beautiful face, it could actually pass as forgettable.

There were better costumes and presentations, but congratulations to Janson. She now joins Venus Raj, Elizabeth Clenci, Nicole Schmitz and Alaine Baccay as winners of this special award.

#ThrowbackThursday: Bb Pilipinas Best in National Costume winners (2010-13)

The Binibining Pilipinas National Costume Competition is more than a contest among candidates and their respective designers; it is a celebration of the Philippines heritage and culture.

This special award was removed years back from the pageant’s awards categories. In 2010, the organizers decided to reinstate it (as Philippine Terno competition) “to promote patriotism among the candidates and local designers”. The following year, it was renamed “National Costume Competition”.

Ahead of this year’s National Costume Competition, which will be part of the 2014 Fashion Show tonight, let’s take a look at the winning cultural costumes from 2010 to 2013.

2010-112010 – Maria Venus Raj (Bb Pilipinas – Universe)
Designed by Ariel Alvarez

2011 – Elizabeth Clenci (Unplaced)
Designed by Jearson Demavivas

2012-132012 – Nicole Schmitz (Bb Pilipinas – International)
Designed by Edwin Uy

2013 – Maria Teresita Alaine Baccay (Unplaced)
Designed by Abbog Ocampo

Which one is your favorite? Mine would be the Edwin Uy creation worn by Nicole. The intricate details were a sight to behold. While it looked sexy, it didn’t lack the elegance and beauty fit for a Filipina beauty queen.

Who do you think will win this special award this year? Find out in a few hours.